Sweet 16 Update - Aug 13

dan_s

Sweet 16 Update - Aug 13

Post by dan_s »

This is the "Year of the Roller Coaster Ride" as FEAR and GREED fight it out. If not for the FEAR of a recession, the portfolio would be up more than 100% YTD.

For the week ending August 12 the Sweet 16 gained 13.57% and is now up 57.33% YTD. It is still trading at an 88% discount to my "Fair Value Estimates" and at less than 3X 2022 operating cash flow; an extremely low valuation multiple for companies of this quality.
I have been publishing the Sweet 16 Growth Portfolio since 2002 and there has only been a few double-digit weekly moves. I really don't know what the portfolio will do next week, but all 16 companies are in great shape. All of them are generating a lot of free cash flow from operations, have lots of "running room" and none of them have near-term debt problems.

The S&P 500 Index gained 2.83% during the week, but it is still down 10.2% YTD.

The Sweet 16 Summary spreadsheet has been posted to the EPG website home page.

We have published updated profiles for AR, CRK, CLR, ESTE, EQT, EOG, MGY, MTDR and RRC. The other 7 profiles are here waiting for my final review. They will all be published in the next few days.

The "Gassers" continue to lead the pack and I expect that to continue. Natural gas inventories are tight and there is nothing that I can see which will allow the utilities to build inventories sufficient for them to safely make it through a colder than normal winter. Miss La Nina and Old Man Winter, with a little help from the LNG exporters are likely to push HH ngas prices over $10/MMBtu within four months.
AR up 130.06% YTD
CRK up 115.20% YTD and still trading at less than half of my current valuation.
EQT up 111.78% YTD
SBOW up 98.40% YTD
RRC up 91.31% YTD.